My New Subculture – Debbie

22 Jan

Wow! I know this is old hat to many of you, but as a previous bachelorette girl famous for Kashi cereal dinners, I am really stretching out and foraging for local organic produce, grain fed meats, juicing and smoothies.

What a local community builder. Just by purchasing said things I am also contributing to local small businesses.

TATSOI

I purchased a small bag of produce from Magnolia Organics.  Very fun.  Bibb lettuce that was such a pretty color I wanted to take a picture of it.  Tatsoi.  What the heck is Tatsoi?  I had never heard of it, but Google to the rescue!  I am pretty excited to learn some new things and supervise IronDude (he’s the chef at Chateau’ Du Marlowe) while he’s cooking.  He loves that <sarcasm>.  I learned something new, ate something new, and can tell you that tatsoi is very cute.

SPAGHETTI SQUASH

So here’s my new fun fact.  SPAGHETTI SQUASH!!  OMG!!!  I am in love with spaghetti squash.  Again, I am late to the party but this stuff is so fun.  Put it whole in the microwave (you can bake or boil if you are microwave phobic).  Set it for one minute and be careful and pull it out with a mitt. Hot – hot – hot! Cut it open in halves. Remove the seeds and gooey stuff. Put back in the microwave for 6-8 minutes. Get your mitt ready, it’s blazing hot now. Take a fork to the innards and party on!

You now have really al dente spaghetti. Friday night we had it with paleo chicken caccatore. I made the other half with chunky spaghetti sauce and it worked!

Leave a Reply

