The Official Start of Clean Start 2012

23 Jan

Here we are! Day 1 of the Official Clean Start 2012 Program

After reading the book and becoming inspired to clean out my body of toxins, then spending the last several weeks preparing in mind and body; I’m ready to embark on the Clean Program for at least the next 21 days.  After much contemplation, my main goals for the Clean Program are:

1.   Lose some more weight.  I’ve been losing about 10 pounds a year for the last 6 years or so; it would be nice to lose another big chunk and get closer to my ultimate goal.  I have about 25 pounds to go.  Even if I don’t hit the pound goal, I’d like to lose at least one more clothing size and hopefully watch my stomach flatten a bit.

2.  Reboot my cravings.  Coming out of the holiday season, I find myself craving fats, sugars, carbs constantly.  Don’t get chips, cookies, cake, muffins, candy near me or I’ll hoover it up.  21 days of sanity in my eating, eliminating sugars, carbs and bad fats should help reboot my cravings.

3.  Decrease Seasonal Allergies.  This is a big one for me this time of year.  In the spring when the oaks bloom, I struggle with seasonal allergy symptoms.  When I used to have health insurance I took a prescription drug to manage the symptoms.  The last several years I’ve managed the symptoms with nettles and local raw honey.  Truthfully, the nettles and raw honey do as good of a job as the drug ever did, without the side effects.  But I’d like to minimize my allergic reaction to the environment.  I am hopeful that by avoiding dairy, wheat, soy and corn through the spring allergy season will decrease my allergies.  I’ll keep you all updated on this one; it is truly an experiment.

So we’re off!  I’m off to work on compiling my clean recipes and buying lots of produce.  And I’ll keep you all posted!

Suzanne Andrew is a Thai Yoga Massage Therapist, Reiki Master, Yoga Teacher and Anxious Devotee of The Clean Program.  Visit her websites at: www.TryThaiYogaMassage.com or www.Structural-Healing.com

And if you still need a copy of the book (and everyone should read it, whether or not you’re ready to do the program)

Clean

Alejandro Junger

Best Price $8.50
or Buy New $10.19

Privacy Information

4 Responses to “The Official Start of Clean Start 2012”

  1. behealthyhappy January 23, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Have actually had a few weeks of preparation and juicing and feeling the benefits. This past weekend, I spent time in my kitchen rearranging for a smoother workflow and getting the essentials on the counter top and cupboards grouped together! Success comes from working smarter, not necessarily harder! Roasted lots of veggies this weekend to have on hand for easy dinner entrees this week. Roasted beets are awesome; I will never boil again! Tried a juice recipe from Whole Living’s CLEAN start article this morning…
    2 grapefruit, 5 carrots and 2 inches of ginger. Very tasty…at first the ginger and grapefruit flavors together were a bit much, but after it settled together for a bit, it was actually a smooth flavor…quite tasty! If you are unsure of that much ginger, you may want to decrease it, but I think the trick is to let it sit together for a bit. It really was refreshing! Here’s to 21 days to a new habit! Quicked coffee the first 21 days of January!!

    • behealthyhappy January 23, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      That should be KICKED coffee in the first 21 days of 2012!

    • Suzanne January 24, 2012 at 2:36 am #

      This is awesome preparation; so inspiring!! And congrats on kicking coffee, I did back in May of 2011 and the subtle benefits are amazing – kudos to you. Thanks for sharing and keep posting!

    • debbieandsuz February 7, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      Soooo going to try that! What could I use instead of carrots? Apple? Pear?

Leave a Reply

