Day 3, CrossFit, Garlic Pork,

25 Jan

WOOT! I am a mean, clean smoothie machine…

This mornings smoothie at 8am has kept me full until 4pm.  Interesting….

I am in LOL today and had a few clients, but time for some fun stuff.  I went to Sam’ s and loaded up on  Spinach, Frozen fruit and smoothie ingredients.  Then I did a really big thing.   I signed up at my local CrossFit box. (www.crossfit.com for one near you).  I haven’t been doing much besides cardio for sometime.  It’s time for the rubber to hit the road.  Or at least another 10 lbs. I will be back there at 5:15am tomorrow.

So after that I came home and cooked this pork tenderloin.  It’s date night with IronDude, so I will be having dinner, not exactly a Clean way to eat, but I try to do that on the days I am in St.Pete.  Didn’t we discuss this is a lifestyle change? I like dinner with Siggy Other.   I think we will have a salad and maybe some squash to compliment, then  it becomes lunch!

image

Garlic Pulled Pork

December 10, 2011 By 12 Comments

This recipe is taken straight from the Paleo Recipe Book. I have permission from Sebastien Noel to post a few recipes on my blog.

I used all the required ingredients and followed the instructions as they were laid out. It turned out better than I had anticipated. It was eaten by just my brother and I so we had plenty of leftovers for the next day.

My brother and I purchased about a 3.25 pound pork shoulder roast from Whole Foods Market for about 3.99 per pound. It was not the best quality you can buy but Whole Foods does not support CAFO meat. None of their food with beef comes from cows that were ever fed corn too! You can be sure you are buying quality when you shop at Whole Foods Market.

Ingredients

  • 1 pork shoulder, about 4 lbs
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 onion
  • 1 bay leaf (I used dried bay leaves)
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Preparation

  1. Preheat your oven to 250 F.
  2. In a bowl, combine the lime juice with the cumin, garlic powder and some salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Rub the spice and lime juice mixture all over the pork.
  4. Make six small incisions on the pork shoulder and insert a garlic clove in each of them.
  5. Placed the sliced onion in the bottom of the roasting pan with the bay leaf and the pork shoulder on top. Cover tightly with foil.
  6. Place in the middle of the oven to roast for about 4 hours, until the meat falls apart very easily when pulled with a fork.
  7. Remove from the oven and let rest, covered, for about 15 minutes before pulling out the delicious pork and serving it with its own juices.

Debbie Forbes, LMT
Licensed Massage Therapist, Certified Personal Trainer, Almost, Kinda, Sorta Yoga Teacher and Student of Thai Yoga Massage
727-642-2666
www.IslandMassageOnline.com
www.debbieforbes.com
www.blackdogwellness.wordpress,com

I will be riding 180 miles on April  21st, 2012 to fundraise for the Multiple Sclerosis Society. Support me here: .http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR

2 Responses to “Day 3, CrossFit, Garlic Pork,”

  1. behealthyhappy January 26, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    Looks yummy!
    My green thing took me til 1130 to finish today…I bit too green for me…so I will modify 🙂
    Enjoy date night!

Leave a Reply

