Day 15 = Star Fruit Smoothie and Progress Update

7 Feb

Two weeks into the Clean program, and day 15 of a green smoothie for breakfast every morning;  I’ve discovered my favorite smoothie blend yet, the Star Fruit Smoothie:

  •  Apple
  • Star Fruit – Carambola
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Chia Seeds
  • Local Raw Honey
  • Coconut water

Half the fun of star fruit is finding a tree in the neighborhood to harvest from; and most trees are overfilled with ripe fruit this time of year.  This smoothie is light and refreshing with a great sweet, citrus taste.

So two weeks into this Clean program and I believe I’m going to try to adopt the Smoothie for Breakfast plan permanently.  I enjoy the feeling of lightness and energy in my body that the smoothies seem to be creating.  It is nice to have much of the energy usually used for the digestion process available for other uses; and I like the idea of front-loading each day with a large dose of macro-nutrients found in the greens, the fruits, the seeds.

Two weeks of Clean means my clothes are all looser, my sleep is better and I’ve not yet been hit with seasonal allergies.  Usually, I’ll start noticing allergy symptoms as soon as the first azaleas bloom; and so far, none.   To combat seasonal spring/oak allergies, I’ve been taking local raw honey daily since mid-January, started taking nettles when I feel congested and made quercitin (via apples and red fruits/veggies) part of my daily diet.  My goal is to use diet to manage seasonal allergies; hopefully by having a diet without meat, dairy, soy, wheat, corn, caffeine and sugar, my body won’t need to have so many allergic reactions.

All that stands between me and the perfect diet are all these cravings; and so my attention in week 3 on the Clean program will be on using all my accumulated meditation and yoga tools to better manage my cravings.

So here we go – week 3!

 

Suzanne Andrew is a Thai Yoga Massage Therapist, Reiki Master, Yoga Teacher and Anxious Devotee of The Clean Program.  Visit her websites at: www.TryThaiYogaMassage.com or www.Structural-Healing.com

Leave a Reply

