Recap of Clean Start 2012 Part I

13 Feb

As we wrap up our first series of Clean Start 2012 I can honestly say the following things have occurred:

1.  I have eaten things I never even heard of:  Star Fruit, Tatsoi.

2.  I learned how to use my juicer.

3.  I bought a food processor and used it.

4. I COOKED!

5.  I ate more fruit in 21 days than I had in 43 years.  This is not a lie.

6.  I pretty much ate spinach every day.

7.  I felt better.

8.  I started a new exercise program – CrossFit.

9.  With the exception of dinners out, I didn’t eat much if any processed food.

10.  I became a member of a CSA to get organic veggies every two weeks

11.  I am madly, truly, deeply in love with parsnips, spaghetti squash and ginger root.  Not together!

12.  Bean is sitting here sniffing with allergies….I am not.  Hmmm.  The raw honey?  The gluten free diet? Non-processed food?

I think that’s probably enough to make me realize that even if I didn’t function perfectly on this plan, that I did one heck of a job for me.  I have never had fruit every day.  I have rarely had veggies every day.  Now I have organic baby spinach in my daily smoothie.  There have been so many profound effects on my daily diet.   I like the way this feels.  On the TMI front, my digestion has improved, I don’t feel as inflammed and I feel much better and stronger all the way around.

I used to come home at night and eat my face off.  Right before bed.  It was a habit.  I never do that now.  Mostly I don’t like to eat after 6 regardless of the day.  The only reason really, is when we go out to dinner for socialization purposes.  But you have seen that post from Suz.  Goes for me too.  Food, Friends, Entertainment.

This Program, even in my tweaking paleo in it, has opened up a whole new world for me.  Great new habits and I am now open to trying new things.  And as I just said to Suz, “What a great gift we gave ourselves.”

Tomorrow will be Suz’s Star Fruit Smoothie and I will continue to eat REAL FOOD.

So, who is up for Clean Start 2012 Round II?

Leave a Reply

