Cravings

17 Feb

Without a doubt, the biggest change I’ve noticed in myself since beginning the Clean Program has been my food cravings.  During the first week or so, my cravings were pretty much as they’ve always been; chocolate, sugar, sweets, carbs.  But a remarkable change has developed over the last 2-3 weeks; I’m no longer craving the chocolate and sweets.  I have to believe it is because I’m nourishing myself so much better while following the clean eating plan.

By eliminating all dairy, corn, wheat, sugar, soy and processed foods (plus I’ve been vegetarian for nearly a decade); my entire diet is basically vegetables, fruits, nuts, beans, seeds and a few grains.  And I hypothesize that by eating all these simple, whole foods and not polluting my system with any empty calories, I am finally getting the nourishment my body needs so I don’t have random, chronic, insidious cravings.  Now when I’m hungry, I have a pretty good idea of what will best fill the gap; and my cravings are varied.  Sometimes I crave the heaviness of beans, sometimes the sweetness of dates; yes, I’ve even craved kale!

This article echoes the lessons I’m learning with my own cravings; chronic cravings for things like sugar, carbs, chocolates may just be my body asking for some specific nourishment it isn’t getting.

http://www.dailytransformations.com/food-cravings-here-is-what-your-body-really-wants/

So the next time you find yourself obsessively wanting pancakes or brownies or a martini; stop and check to see if maybe your body really needs something else. Then the trick is to not just add in the needed nutrient, but to free up enough space for that nutrient to do its job; but more on that in a future post.

Here’s to another few days of Clean!

 

Suzanne Andrew is a Thai Yoga Massage Therapist, Reiki Master, Yoga Teacher and  Devotee of The Clean Program.  Visit her websites at: www.TryThaiYogaMassage.com or www.Structural-Healing.com.

Leave a Reply

