Taking a Clean Break

27 Feb

This morning, for the 35th consecutive day, I made and drank a green smoothie for breakfast.  Today’s smoothie defied the laws of physics for concentration of swiss chard in an unusually tasty beverage!  For 35 days in a row I’ve had a green smoothie for breakfast; and for about 30 of those 35 days, I’ve eaten ‘clean’ (no dairy, wheat, soy, corn, sugar or processed food)

In those 35 days I’ve had the initial challenges of: what do I eat, how do I shop, how do I hang-out with friends.  I’ve experienced incredible highs in feeling good.  I’ve witnessed my body systems improving in their functioning. I’ve enjoyed a remarkably easy pollen allergy season.  I’ve eliminated most of my sugar and carb cravings.  I’ve learned some amazing new recipes and have re-friended my kitchen.

But now I need a break.  As I was riding my bike around the waterfront this morning, and in spite of the breathtaking natural beauty all around me, I could not quit obsessing over the idea of melted cheese over a burger and sweet potato fries.   I’ve been on the program long enough that I’ve started to take for granted how good I feel while following the clean program; and it no longer feels like a triumph to eat clean or make the smoothies or snack on kale chips.

So I’m going off the program for a while.  I don’t know how long a while will be; probably long enough to feel really lousy from eating cheese and ice cream, pizza and beer.  But I need a break; I’ll be back when it’s time…  For now I have to get to lunch with my bff at my favorite local greasy spoon; I’m going to have a veggie burger covered in cheese, sweet potato fries and beer!

Suzanne Andrew is a Thai Yoga Massage Therapist, Reiki Master, Yoga Teacher and (erstwhile) Devotee of The Clean Program.  Visit her websites at: www.TryThaiYogaMassage.com or www.Structural-Healing.com.

Leave a Reply

